This and That

As we are getting ready to head to Indy for Dolan’s 1 year check up, so many things are running through my head…

Holy shit I still can’t believe he’s a year old already. People tell you that it goes fast but you don’t realize it until you experience if yourself. This last year has flown by so fast, it literally seems like yesterday that he was born.

It is so freaking hard being a parent. Every little thing that we do affects how they will turn out. Dolan is still kind of sleeping in our bed. People have given me a lot of shit for that and I don’t really think it’s fair for parents to judge other parents. Oh yeah I forgot that you’re a perfect parent…my husband works nights, I work part time, why should I get up a thousand times in the night with him and become a groggy ass zombie? But the last two nights he has slept in his own bed, so we’re working on it. I’ll be very proud to tell the doctor that he’s off the bottle, getting his fruits & veggies and show her that he’s already walking. She will be thrilled. It’s funny how these little things like being a proud parent makes us so happy.

He is climbing everything now; the fireplace, toys, chairs and he rides his four-wheeler backwards… This kid literally has no fears. He’s a daredevil! I spank him sometimes when he isn’t listening and it doesn’t phase him at all… He just keeps on not listening. I can’t wait to see where we are a year from now, hopefully he’s listening a little better. (Haha, a girl can dream, right?)

I think about the goals that I had for myself as an individual before I had him and yes, a career matters to me very much but definitley not as much as being a parent. I was happy before I had him of course, but I felt like I didn’t really have a place in the world. Like I didn’t fit anywhere and always wondered what my purpose was in life. They say that there’s no harder job than being a parent and I totally agree. It has nothing to do with money, it has everything to do with raising a good person, and he will hopefully have Faith in God and himself. My faith has never been as important to me in life as it is now. I’m not afraid to say that I believe in God and I know that he is guiding my life in the right direction. I pray and thank Him every night for the blessed life he has given me.

I think that it’s more difficult than ever to raise a child in today’s society. The way that technology rules the world and kids have access to so many things that they never used to. There’s so much pressure to look and feel certain ways and do certain things more so than ever before. I am going to continue to do my best to raise Dolan the right way with good manners, good behavior and respect for his elders and hope that everything else falls into place. I know some really great parents and they are doing a wonderful job raising their kids, and I hope to follow in their footsteps.

Don’t forget to spend all the time you can with your kids, they grow up in the blink of an eye. And they will remember all the bad times instead of the good, so let’s make them all good!!!

That’s it for now!!
XOXO
AV

IMG_0608.JPG

Questions, comments & thoughts go here

