Making Something Out of Nothing

I’ve been watching the Extreme Cheapskates show and have been getting inspired to be more of a cheapass… 😂 They do crazy things like pee in jars to save $10 a month for not flushing as much, they put a brick in the back of toilet to save on water ( I don’t know if these actually work) This one woman who didn’t want to pay for a gym membership goes to different sporting good stores to “test” cycling bikes 3xs a week, and the same woman puts heavy objects in the bottom of her inground pool to keep the water from emptying so fast. There are a lot more things that they do but these are just to name a few, and while most of them are batshit crazy, it had us reevaluating our spending.
We’ve been doing little things to minimize our monthly debt; keeping the heat lower when we aren’t home, lights off in the daytime, (trying) not to buy alcohol and if we do it’s cheap beer, the “normal” things that people do to save a buck.
But lately we’ve been trying to spend as little as possible on groceries which is good for our wallets, but not necessarily for our health. The price of food is at an all time high (it makes no sense because fuel prices have gone down so much but, that’s another story) and healthy food is even more expensive. And it’s too expensive to let it go to waste but we hate eating leftovers!
On another hand we are getting so tired of eating the same things over and over and haven’t had time to look up new easy things. When we went grocery shopping for the week we didn’t really have a list and were in a hurry (hate that, so not me) but we just grabbed essentuals and stuff to make spaghetti and a couple pizzas (ugh, even tired of looking at the words of those meals) With it feeling like -18 outside today both of us decided we weren’t leaving the house, especially with Dolan. So, I got the bright idea to see what we had laying around the house to make. All we had were odds and ends things and there was no way we could make a meal out of any of it.
But, thanks to Pinterest, I got some ideas! I’ve really been wanting egg drop soup and I looked up the recipe and it requires chicken broth. *Sigh* I did not want to go to the store! So I looked for alternatives for the chicken broth and read one thing; vegetable stock, but couldn’t find a recipe… I had fresh carrots and fresh corn on the cob, so I decided to do trial and error thing and figured I wouldn’t be out much if it didn’t work.
I started by cooking the carrots and corn, sliced the corn off of the cob and used my magic bullet to purée them. It looked discusting!!! I added water and started boiling it. Aside from being carrot(y) tasting it wasn’t bad! Ha! So I added more water and continued to look for a recipe. I actually found one, and it was considered vegetarian egg drop soup since I didn’t use chicken broth. I didn’t stick to it fully but it helped a lot as far as seasonings go and how many eggs to use.
Now, I know my husband, and I figured that this wouldn’t fill him up. I had half a box of whole wheat fettucine noodles and had set aside some fresh shredded carrots and corn for it. I also had a little teriyaki sauce and orange ginger sauce left over and I combined them and doused the cooked noodles in it with the corn and carrots and it’s actually really good!!
While I was looking up these Asian cuisines I came across a cookie from chow mein noodles. What!? David loves chow mein noodles ( and has a natural sweet tooth) and we happen to have some!! It called for melted butterscotch morsels but I had carmel icing left over, I melted it down and added marshmallows!! I seriously can’t wait for him to wake up and try everything!
In the mean time I’ve already found new meal ideas on Pinterest to try!! Have you ever made a meal from nothing? I want to hear about it!!

Xoxo
AV

Questions, comments & thoughts go here

